PDF download Download Article
A comprehensive guide on one of MTG’s most confusing mechanics
PDF download Download Article

The Lord of the Rings: Tales of Middle Earth introduced all kinds of LOTR-themed mechanics into Magic: The Gathering. One of them, “The Ring tempts you,” grants an emblem called The Ring (unrelated to the card, “The One Ring”). But even seasoned MTG players end up scratching their head when it comes to The Ring’s temptations. That’s why we’re here to explain how the mechanic works, how you level up The Ring, and how to sort out the odd rule interactions that might have you confused.

“The Ring Tempts You” in MTG: Explained

“The Ring tempts you” is a mechanic in Magic: The Gathering that grants an emblem—“The Ring.” Each time a player is tempted, The Ring levels up and grants a new ability. The Ring’s level cannot change, but the effects are only applied if you have an active ring-bearer in play.[1]

Section 1 of 7:

What is “The Ring tempts you?”

PDF download Download Article
  1. “The Ring” refers to an emblem that comes into play after a player resolves any card that says “The Ring tempts you.” The Ring has four abilities. The first time you are tempted, you get the emblem and the first ability. Each additional time you are “tempted,” you progress on to the next ability.[2] [3]
    • The Ring’s temptations are meant to mimic the effect of the one ring from the world of Lord of the Rings.
    • The Ring card has two sides. On one side there are the four abilities that are “tempted” into play. On the other side, you can find rule text and reminders.
    • Emblems cannot be interacted with. There are no cards that target, remove, or change emblems.
    • Cards that contain “The Ring tempts you” have not proven to be constructed playable. They do pop up in limited and EDH, though.
  2. Advertisement
Section 2 of 7:

What are the rules for “The Ring tempts you” and how does it work?

PDF download Download Article
  1. There are a few dozen cards in Magic: The Gathering that contain the text “The Ring tempts you.” If you play any of those cards and the card resolves, you get The Ring emblem.[4]
    • If the card tempting you is countered or fails to resolve, then The Ring does not enter the battlefield and nothing happens.
  2. If you have a physical emblem, put it on the battlefield wherever you’d like. If you don’t have an actual emblem, pull up The Ring on your phone to have quick access to the rules text.
    • The Ring’s first ability: “Your Ring-bearer is legendary and can't be blocked by creatures with greater power.”[5]
      • How does this work? You choose any creature you control. That creature is now your “Ring-bearer.” They can only be blocked by creatures with a lower power. So, if your ring bearer is a 3/3, they can only be blocked by 2/X, 1/X, or 0/X creatures. This remains true for the rest of the game until you choose a new ring-bearer or the creature is killed.[6]
  3. Play continues as normal. The next time you play and resolve any card that says “The Ring tempts you,” you add the next ability listed on “The Ring” to play. These abilities continue to remain true. Just as an overview, if you were to resolve three cards that “tempt” you, your ring-bearer has the first three abilities of The Ring.[7]
    • The Ring’s second ability: “Whenever your Ring-bearer attacks, draw a card, then discard a card.”[8]
      • How does this work? Remember when you designated a ring-bearer? In addition to not being blockable by creatures with a higher power, now they loot when they attack, too!
    • The Ring’s third ability: “Whenever your Ring-bearer becomes blocked by a creature, that creature's controller sacrifices it at end of combat.”[9]
      • How does this work? Even if your 3/3 ring-bearer is blocked by, say, a 2/4, that 2/4 will be sacrificed at the end of combat (even though they weren’t dealt lethal combat damage).
  4. After resolving a fourth “The Ring tempts you” ability, you now have all of the four abilities listed on The Ring. If you are “tempted” again, nothing happens.[10]
  5. Advertisement
Section 4 of 7:

What if I’m already tempted and play my first creature?

PDF download Download Article
  1. So, say you’ve been tempted once. The Ring is on its “Your Ring-bearer is legendary and can't be blocked by creatures with greater power” mode. You do not have a creature on board, then you play one. It resolves. What happens? Nothing. The Ring is still on its first ability and the creature is not the ring-bearer.[14]
    • However, that creature would get all Ring abilities if it’s in play and you’re tempted by the Ring again. So, if you resolve another card that says “The Ring tempts you,” you would now choose a ring-bearer and it would gain both of the first two Ring abilities.
  2. Advertisement
Section 5 of 7:

What happens if I’m tempted multiple times before playing a creature?

PDF download Download Article
  1. If you are tempted three times before a creature is on board, The Ring is on its third ability (“Whenever your Ring-bearer becomes blocked by a creature, that creature's controller sacrifices it at end of combat”). It just won’t impact anything until you have a creature on board and you’re tempted again.[15]
    • If you do have a creature on board and you’re tempted again, that creature will get all four of The Ring’s abilities.
Section 6 of 7:

What happens if the ring-bearer is destroyed?

PDF download Download Article
  1. If you’re on step three of The Ring and your ring-bearer is destroyed or killed in combat, The Ring is still on step three. You do not get to choose a new ring-bearer until you are tempted by the ring again (and there’s a creature in play to choose).[16]
    • If the ring-bearer is blinked, temporarily exiled, or killed and reanimated, it loses its status as ring-bearer.
  2. Advertisement
Section 7 of 7:

What happens if you’re tempted by the Ring after maxing it out?

PDF download Download Article
  1. Once you’re on the fourth level of The Ring, that’s it. You can’t start over, gain new levels, or change which setting you’re on. However, you do get to choose a new ring-bearer when you’re tempted, so if you want to change who the ring-bearer is you can.[17]
    • You can only ever have one ring-bearer at a time. You can change who the ring-bearer is, but you can’t have two of them.

Expert Q&A

Ask a Question
200 characters left
Include your email address to get a message when this question is answered.
Submit
Advertisement

Video

Tips

  • Just FYI, “The Ring tempts you” has absolutely nothing to do with The One Ring. This can be a little confusing—especially since The One Ring is probably one of the most dominant constructed cards of all time, but the two have nothing to do with one another.[18]
  • It can be extremely easy to forget what part of The Ring you’re on. As an emblem designation, there are no tokens to track, though. So, use pebbles or pieces of paper to remind yourself who the ring-bearer is and where you’re at on The Ring.
  • It helps to remember that you are the one being tempted, not the creature that becomes the ring-bearer.
Show More Tips
    • If you’re thinking it’s a little weird that The One Ring, the card meant to represent the legendary ring from Lord of the Rings, doesn’t actually trigger the ability meant to represent the power of the ring, you aren’t the first.
Show More Tips
Submit a Tip
All tip submissions are carefully reviewed before being published
Name
Please provide your name and last initial
Thanks for submitting a tip for review!
Advertisement

Expert Interview

Thanks for reading our article! If you’d like to learn more about magic the gathering, check out our in-depth interview with Jason Garvin.

References

  1. Jason Garvin. Games & Retail Expert. Expert Interview
  2. Jason Garvin. Games & Retail Expert. Expert Interview
  3. https://www.dexerto.com/gaming/mtg-the-ring-tempts-you-explained-how-it-works-2254439/
  4. https://www.dexerto.com/gaming/mtg-the-ring-tempts-you-explained-how-it-works-2254439/
  5. Jason Garvin. Games & Retail Expert. Expert Interview
  6. Jason Garvin. Games & Retail Expert. Expert Interview
  7. https://magic.wizards.com/en/news/making-magic/crafting-the-ring-part-2
  8. Jason Garvin. Games & Retail Expert. Expert Interview
  9. Jason Garvin. Games & Retail Expert. Expert Interview

About This Article

Jason Garvin
Co-authored by:
Trading Card Game Expert
This article was co-authored by Jason Garvin and by wikiHow staff writer, Eric McClure. Jason Garvin is a Games & Retail Expert based in Broomfield, Colorado. He is the Chief Operating Officer of Total Escape Games, a gaming business that carries a broad collection of role-playing games, board games, paints, and collectible card games including Magic the Gathering singles. Total Escape Games hosts events and interactive gaming opportunities, and their community is incredibly welcoming to new players and hobbyists. Jason has over 7 years of retail experience. In addition to his role at Total Escape Games, Jason serves as the President of JTJ Holdings, Inc., where he focuses on mentoring emerging entrepreneurs and small businesses within the tabletop gaming industry to foster growth and innovation. Beyond his formal roles, Jason is also an active participant in the tech community with personal projects such as developing and maintaining his own website, contributing to his blog, and completing UI/UX projects. He received a BS in Psychology from Colorado State University. This article has been viewed 3,093 times.
1 votes - 100%
Co-authors: 4
Updated: July 13, 2025
Views: 3,093
Categories: Trading Card Games
Thanks to all authors for creating a page that has been read 3,093 times.

Did this article help you?

Advertisement