Q&A for How to Play Settlers of Catan

Return to Full Article

Search
Add New Question
  • Question
    We had a situation where a player had 8 points on the board and two victory point cards. Can she use both to make her 10 points?
    Community Answer
    Community Answer
    Yes, she can. Victory point cards are the only development cards that more than one can be played on each turn.
  • Question
    If it states that if a player has more than seven cards, he/she discards half, does that mean the player needs to have eight cards - or is it seven or more cards?
    Community Answer
    Community Answer
    You need to have eight cards to have to discard half. You are safe if you have seven.
  • Question
    Can I buy a settlement before buying a road?
    Community Answer
    Community Answer
    You need to have roads in between any settlements in the game, so it depends on the situation. In the beginning of the game, you will need to place another road right next to one of your starting roads to be able to build the settlement, or you can use the road building development card to build roads.
  • Question
    Can I trade future resources in Settlers of Catan?
    Community Answer
    Community Answer
    Since there is no guarantee that you will get these resources, no. Trading on the promise of resources in the future is not allowed.
  • Question
    When I roll a seven or play a knight card, can I choose to place the robber in the same hex?
    Community Answer
    Community Answer
    The latest rules state that you can put it anywhere, even back to the desert!
  • Question
    What are victory points?
    Community Answer
    Community Answer
    Victory points are the points you need to win the game in Catan. You need 10 points to win, generally.
  • Question
    What is the use of the Catan hexes in Settlers of Catan?
    Community Answer
    Community Answer
    Each hex gives a different resource. Also, players can only build settlements and cities on the corners of them, and can only build roads on the edges.
  • Question
    Does the player moving the robber get a resource card from the hex the robber is moved onto?
    Ruah
    Community Answer
    Yes! When the robber is moved, the player who moved the robber steals one resource card from the players built around the hex.
  • Question
    Am I supposed to discard half of the cards over seven or half of all cards in my hand?
    Community Answer
    Community Answer
    If a robber comes when you have 8 or more cards, discard half of all the cards in your hand.
  • Question
    Can I place a road through an established settlement or city if the other side is available?
    Community Answer
    Community Answer
    Yes. you can always place a road on an edge so long as: A. There isn't a road currently there, and B. You have a settlement/road on one of the adjacent corners.
  • Question
    Can I add another settlement and road?
    Community Answer
    Community Answer
    Yes, you can. Settlements cost 1 wood, 1 sheep, 1 brick, and 1 wheat. Roads only take 1 brick and 1 wood.
  • Question
    What happens if I win the game?
    Community Answer
    Community Answer
    It's over and you rule Catan!
  • Question
    How old should I be to play this?
    Community Answer
    Community Answer
    The game is designed for players aged 10 and up.
  • Question
    Can the robber be moved once it has been placed on a hex and the card taken from another player?
    Community Answer
    Community Answer
    No, you can't move the robber unless you roll the dice and receive a number that lets you move it again.
  • Question
    Do the numbers around the board matter? If so, what is the purpose?
    Community Answer
    Community Answer
    Yes, they matter. For example, if you have a settlement on the spot with the six on it and you roll a six, that spot will give you resources.
  • Question
    What does the word "Catan" mean?
    Community Answer
    Community Answer
    From what I can tell, it doesn't have a meaning. It's just a made up place name.
  • Question
    Can I build a settlement in a place where other players' roads are and not my own?
    Community Answer
    Community Answer
    No. A settlement may be placed only an intersection next to your own road.
  • Question
    Does the person who rolls the seven have to discard half of their cards if they have more than seven?
    Community Answer
    Community Answer
    Yes, as disappointing as it is, they still have to obey the seven cards in a hand rule.
  • Question
    How many "Longest Road" and "Largest Army" cards do I need?
    Community Answer
    Community Answer
    You only need 1 each of Longest Road and Largest Army cards. They are rewards that can only be assigned to one player at any time.
  • Question
    Can I win if the robber is on one of my numbers?
    Community Answer
    Community Answer
    If you have all ten victory points, then yes you can! All the robber does is the hex barren, which means he steals all the resources produced by the hex.
  • Question
    Can I play a development card in the same turn that I bought it?
    Community Answer
    Community Answer
    Yes, you can play it at the beginning or the end of your turn. It states this in the development card section.
  • Question
    Can a Longest Road card be awarded if the road runs through your own settlements and cities?
    Community Answer
    Community Answer
    Your settlements and cities break up the road. For example, let's say your opponent has seven road segments, normally that would give him the Longest Road card, but let's say that you build a settlement on his road, maybe on the spot between 3 of the road segments and 4 of the other road segments. Then the road counts as two roads, one 3 road segments long, and the other one 4 road segments long. I used this concept to keep an opponent from winning once.
  • Question
    If I forgot to pick up my resource cards, can I pick them up later?
    Community Answer
    Community Answer
    There isn't really a rule about this, but you can try to decide it among those of you playing before you start. It also helps for everyone to be paying attention and making sure people pick up their resources. You could choose one person to be in charge of all the resources and hand them out to the right people every round - that way you are less likely to forget.
  • Question
    Can I build a third settlement and road away from the first two settlements?
    Community Answer
    Community Answer
    No. You have to build towards that area first by placing roads.
  • Question
    If I have 6 knights, do I get 2 or 4 points?
    Thequestioner555
    Thequestioner555
    Top Answerer
    No more than two points are awarded to the player with the largest army, regardless of how many knights the player acquires.
  • Question
    When a player rolls a seven, does the player then get the resources that the player with a settlement there would get?
    Thequestioner555
    Thequestioner555
    Top Answerer
    No resources are acquired when a seven is rolled. Players with eight or more cards on hand must discard half of their cards, and the roller may relocate the robber and steal one card from the robber's new neighbour.
  • Question
    If I have 9 cards and someone rolls a 7, do I choose which cards to discard, and do I lose 4 or 5 cards?
    Thequestioner555
    Thequestioner555
    Top Answerer
    You choose which cards to discard. If you have an odd number of cards, you lose half rounded down, so you would discard 4 cards.
  • Question
    When placing your first two settlements, can I place either of them on the outside border?
    Thequestioner555
    Thequestioner555
    Top Answerer
    You can place your starting settlements on any intersection, including those on the outside border.
  • Question
    When I am required to discard half of my cards, do unplayed development cards count towards my hand total, or does it only apply to resource cards?
    Meismeisme
    Meismeisme
    Community Answer
    When you must discard, only resource cards count towards your hand total. Unplayed development cards are not included in this count.
  • Question
    When playing Settlers of Catan, do I have to discard half my resource cards every time a '7' is rolled if I have more than seven cards, or only the first time the Robber is activated?
    Meismeisme
    Meismeisme
    Community Answer
    You must discard half your resource cards every time a '7' is rolled if you have more than seven cards. This rule applies each time a '7' is rolled, not just the first time the Robber is activated. Additionally, playing a Knight card, which moves the Robber, does not require you to discard cards; only rolling a '7' does.
Ask a Question
200 characters left
Include your email address to get a message when this question is answered.
Submit

Return to Full Article

You Might Also Like